Smashed Chickpea Salad Toast

Happy Friday and September!  The birthday celebrations continue this evening but today I’m spending lots of time prepping for the ECU tailgate tomorrow.  Hopefully this weekend and into next week I’ll be able to cross off a few final bucket list items before having to say “farewell” to the Summer of 2017 on Wednesday (I’m lucky that I’m able to take a couple of days off from teaching so that I can enjoy the time that Big Guy has off work).

This recipe is one that I honestly didn’t think I would share with you – I whipped it up simply because I had all the ingredients on hand and I needed a quick dinner on Thursday night after working out with a client.  However, immediately after digging in, I knew I had to share the recipe.  Y’all – this smashed chickpea salad toast is awesome.  It reminds me a lot of chicken salad and egg salad but I loved the texture from the crunchy celery and the sour pickles gave the entire batch of salad so much flavor.  The salad is not overly mayo-y thanks to lemon juice and I anticipate this becoming a lunch time meal that I keep on rotation.  You could also top a salad with the chickpea mixture or you could simply use crackers to scoop instead of using bread.

chickpeasalad

I hope you all have a wonderful looonnngggg weekend and if I disappear at the beginning of the week, don’t be alarmed.  Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Smashed Chickpea Salad Toast

Leave a Reply

