Grilled Burrata Pizza with Crispy Prosciutto and Basil

Burrata is slowly but surely becoming one of my favorite cheeses.  Perhaps it’s because it’s a bit elusive (aka I have to go to Raleigh to find it) or maybe it’s because it’s just so creamy and dreamy.  Either way, this pizza has one of the shortest ingredient lists of any pizza we’ve ever made yet it’s one of my all-time favorites.

By grilling our favorite dough, the crust had the slightest “smoky/grilled” taste to it and I loved how crispy yet chewy the crust was.  Once we grilled one side of the dough, we flipped and grilled the other halfway before added shredded mozzarella.  Then came the burrata with all it’s lusciousness.  On top of that went crispy prosciutto that I cooked over the stovetop in the smallest amount of EVOO.  Then I added crispy basil that I cooked in the prosciutto fat/EVOO.  Right before serving, I sprinkled with sea salt that added a pop of flavor.

burratapizza

Salty.  Creamy.  Crispy.  Herbaceous.  Cheesy.

Pizza perfection.

Leave a Reply

