Baby Watson {Weeks 4 – 13}

fruit

{image}

In case you missed it – Our Announcement!

The past ten weeks have been full of praying, anxiously awaiting appointments, secrets, early bedtimes, afternoons full of exhaustion and grapes.

Today is the beginning of our second trimester.  It’s crazy to think that a baby will be here in six months.  We found out I was pregnant on May 30 (my Momma’s birthday) and despite the fact that we had been trying to have a baby we were still shocked.  Like heart beating out of my chest shocked.  But we are incredibly excited as well as petrified about being parents.  Before I even get to the recap of the first three months, let me say that I have been extremely lucky and really cannot complain about this pregnancy.  I am blessed.

Week 4 {Poppyseed}:  As soon as we found out I was pregnant, I started keeping a “journal” so I won’t forget the small details about this journey.  The main symptom this week:  extreme thirst.  We also broke down and told two of our friends in town because of social commitments.  It honestly felt so good to tell someone.

Week 5 {Apple Seed}:  Refusing to get too excited because the risk of miscarriage scared me so much.  I did buy three books and “better” prenatal vitamins (I started taking prenatal vitamins in December.  Upon a little research, I found some sources that say taking prenatal vitamins for three months before getting pregnant helps lessen morning sickness – I’m a believer!).

Week 6 {Sweet Pea}:  We told my parents because well, I just couldn’t keep it from them and we were with them for my brothers wedding weekend.  Feeling super tired, and almost “hung over.”  One incident of “nausea” while cooking sausage.

Week 7 {Blueberry}:  Increased dizziness; weird dreams; and increased hunger (started adding in a small mid-morning snack).  Started loving grapes and really missing wine.

Week 8 {Raspberry}:  Incredibly tired in the afternoon/evening.  Increased bloating and no desire to plan or cook dinner.  No strong aversions and continued having vivid dreams.

Week 9 {Grape}:  Feeling bloated, as if I can’t suck in.  Grapes have never tasted so good and I had a craving for pepperoni pizza while we were at the beach.  No aversions, but my beloved salmon doesn’t sound so appealing.

Week 10 {Olive}:  Finally had a visit at the doctor though it was only informational as well as the appointment where they draw lots and lots of blood.  Looking forward to my next appointment in two weeks when I’ll get to hear the heartbeat.  Started becoming restless at night so we bought me a Snoogle (aka the BEST purchase of my life).  I have not had a bad nights sleep since my Snoogle arrived.  I had a craving for grilled cheese and raw veggies gave me an increased feeling of bloating.

Week 11 {Lime}:  This week I experienced a small scare but that scare had a silver lining – an ultrasound.  Unfortunately Big Guy was out of town but it was such a relief to see Baby Watson – I finally felt pregnant and could accept that I was pregnant.  Baby Watson had a heartbeat of 170 so I’m convinced it’s a girl (don’t worry, I’ll be happy with either – I’m praying for a healthy baby).  The baby was moving so much during the ultrasound and sharing the pictures with Big Guy was probably a highlight of the past several months.  This week I had lots of bloating and found myself really wanting nachos.  Chinese/Japanese flavors in cooking did not excite me at all.

Week 12 {Plum}:  My 12-week appointment and we were able to hear the baby’s heartbeat.  No bloating this week – woot woot!  Seeing a small change in my stomach and I’m sleeping so well.  We finally were able to tell all our family and friends and it was the best feeling ever.  Such an exciting time.  We were overwhelmed with the amount of prayers and well wishes we received.

Week 13 {Lemon}:  Still having vivid dreams.  In the morning I wake up and my stomach looks “normal” but as the day progresses, I get more bloated looking and almost a rounding of my belly.  Anxious to find out if we are having a boy or girl (September!).  And I continue to worry about miscarriage especially now that everyone knows our news.  We also made two “huge” decisions – who our pediatrician will be as well as what stroller we want.

And here we are at week 14 – AKA “Peach.”  I know that the next three months will fly by so I’m trying to embrace all the changes and savor the excitement.  I can’t wait to share our “reveal” next month.  Your continued prayers for a healthy pregnancy and a healthy baby are always welcome.

4 thoughts on “Baby Watson {Weeks 4 – 13}

  1. Congrats again! Such an exciting time in your life! Great idea to keep a journal. It’s fun to go back and read (especially if you plan on having more kids!). Prayers for a healthy and uneventful pregnancy!

  2. You know I’ve loved reading your cooking updates over the years, but I especially LOVE your baby Watson updates! Can’t wait for our sweet babes to meet and become friends next year!!

    • It’s always nice to know you’re out there reading the randomness I throw out there. Excited to see our kiddos become friends over the years and I’m excited to meet your TWO in a couple of months.

Leave a Reply

