Skillet Nacho Dip

Our third and final dinner utilizing the caramelized onion burgers I made over the weekend.  I can honestly say that all three dinners have been extremely different in flavors and textures and presentation.  I also think it was helpful to spread out the meals, allowing for a day of leftovers here and there.

This dinner came together SO fast – I’m talking under 20 minutes.  Diced red onion and jalapeño are sautéed in a little bit of EVOO before adding in the spices:  cumin and chili powder along with a thickening agent (I used cornstarch, recipe called for flour).  Stock is added and allow the mixture to bubble and thicken before adding in pinto beans (you honestly could use any bean here – black would be great) and the chopped burgers.  Add in some of the cheese and mix before adding more cheese on top and broiling until melted.  Before serving, top the skillet dip with diced tomato and avocado.  Serve with tortilla chips.

skilletnachos

I loved how I felt like I was eating a “cheat” meal – we usually doing eat nachos during the week.

skilletnachos2

So dippin’ good.

Leave a Reply

