Thai Beef Salad

I present to you another edition of “Cook Once, Eat 3 Times.”  Cooking Light has been printing this monthly feature in their magazine for a while now and I absolutely love the concept.  The first night you spend a little more time in the kitchen and then the second and third meals come together a little faster because you utilize a major ingredient from the first night.

On Saturday night we made Smoky Caramelized Onion Burgers (they were DELICIOUS but my pictures turned out incredibly dark) and I’ve been using the four leftover patties all week in our other meals.  On Monday night the burgers were crumbled and transformed into a Thai Beef Salad that was so unique and I honestly felt like I was eating a completely different meal – not just a burger crumbled up.

To make the dressing, whisk together lime juice, light brown sugar, fish sauce and Sriracha.  This dressing is used to flavor the meat as well as dress the greens when a little EVOO is added.  Like I said, crumble the burgers and sauté in a little but of EVOO until crispy and warmed.  Then add in some of the dressing and allow the liquid to be absorbed.  I made a few changes to the recipe and used romaine lettuce instead of cabbage and I used red onions instead of green onions.  The greens are tossed in the remaining dressing along with steamed haricot verts (French green beans).  Top the greens with the crumbled beef and peanuts for some extra crunch and nuttiness.

thaibeefsalad

Big Guy and I both loved the flavors in this salad.  Completely different than the burgers. So refreshing and you guys know I love a meal with a huge portion size.

Tomorrow I’ll show you how I used up the last two patties…it might just be my favorite.

Leave a Reply

