Spiralized Beets with Seared Scallops and Orange

Good Morning and Happy Monday!  After being at the beach for the past week I’m trying to get back into the “normal” swing of things.  Our week away was super low-key which is exactly what I wanted.  I felt like I unplugged a little – I wasn’t constantly checking social media, I didn’t read my blogs every morning, and I must say – it was a nice change of pace.  I read five (!!!!) books, knocking out that bucket list item and we were able to check-off an ice cream date.  By the way, I will never argue with ice cream for dinner, especially when it’s mint chocolate chip.  We arrived back home on Saturday evening and we spent yesterday getting everything back in order – laundry, tidying up, stocking the fridge and cooking an amazing dinner.

The recipe is from the SkinnyTaste Fast and Slow cookbook so I can’t share the exact recipe but I can give you an overall idea of what the ingredients are.  I think this cookbook is one anyone could enjoy – it’s full of fast recipes as well as slow cooker recipes.

beetsandscallops

On our way home from the beach, we stopped by our favorite seafood “shack,” The Island Seafood Company, and picked up some fresh scallops and lump crab (coming later in the week).  The scallops were HUGE.

After browsing through my recipes, I finally decided on a salad that incorporated spiralized beets as well as oranges and a refreshing dressing.

The beets are spiralized and then roasted until cooked through.  I adore roasted beets and spiralizing them helps them cook faster which means dinner is on the table sooner.  Win.  The lettuce was studded with red onions and then tossed with a dressing made up for fresh orange juice, white wine vinegar, salt and pepper.  Pile the lettuce in a bowl and then top with the roasted beets.  Finally come the seared scallops – we cooked ours for about 2 minutes a side in a mixture of butter and EVOO.  Finish the salad off with fresh orange segments and you’re ready to dig in.

I loved all the flavors and textures in this dinner.  The scallops were perfectly tender and incredible with the roasted beets which were earthy.  The dressing was vibrant and fresh and I loved the bites with oranges.

I hope you’re having a great Monday so far and I’ll see you later with a crab recipe or two.

Leave a Reply

