Friday Favorites

BIG WEEKEND!  Cinco de Mayo AND “the two most exciting minutes in sports” (aka the Kentucky Derby).  The funny thing is, we’ve declined all parties and gatherings this weekend so that we can just enjoy the weekend without feeling pulled in a million directions.  It’s beyond necessary after a crazy few weekends and some crazy weekends to come.  Don’t worry – we’re still going to have a few tacos and margaritas tonight and tomorrow I’m planning on toasting to the “good life” with a couple of girlfriends while Big Guy plants the garden.  But tomorrow evening and Sunday are going to be OUR hours.  Enjoy your weekend – whatever you may be doing.

nonnies-kentucky-derby-pie-1-1

Favorite Just Add Bourbon:  Nonnie’s Kentucky Derby Pie.  I’m not a fan of mint juleps (or any bourbon drink for that matter), but throw a shot into a pie and I’m in.

matchbook

Favorite Unique:  Five of the Craziest Things We’ve Framed Lately.  I saw this on instagram the other day and I’m obsessed.  While we were in Charleston I collected a couple of matchbooks and one of them is darling.  I really want to get it framed.

0s9a5678-1365x2048

Favorite Fiesta:  Jalapeño Queso Dip with Spiced Homemade Chips.  No plans tonight?  All you need is some cheese and chips and perhaps a delicious margarita to make it a party.

lba_coc_mint_mist_8oz

Favorite Refreshing:  Coconut + Mint Cooling Mineral Mist.  I’m loving my BeautyCounter rosewater spray (I used it post-washing, pre-moisturizing) and this face spray sounds incredible for the hot summer months.

coconut-flour-lemon-poppy-seed-muffins

Favorite Spring:  Coconut Flour Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins with Creamy Lemon Icing.  Must make for Big Guy!  I adore baked goods and desserts that are sweet and tart.

img_0811

Favorite Wanderlust:  Gaby’s Guide to Cabo San Lucas.  Cabo is on the top of my list of places to visit and I love this round-up of places to go and food to eat.  When can I pack my bags?

crockpot-orange-chicken

Favorite Weeknight Dinner:  Crockpot Orange Chicken.  This healthier, lightened up version of one of my favorite Chinese takeout meals looks amazing.

100670611

Favorite Crossbody:  J.Crew Edit Bag.  I love cross body bags for travel and shopping – it holds all the necessary items and it frees up your hands.  I think the “frosty blossom” color is perfect for spring and unexpected yet still will match everything.

small-batch-hamburger-buns-5

Favorite Burger Night:  Homemade Brioche Buns.  Warmer weather makes me crave a juicy burger.  But let’s take burger night to a whole new level with homemade buns.

marg

Favorite Spicy:  Cilantro Jalapeño Margarita.  This is happening in less than 12 hours.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

