Weekend Review {plus Banana Nut Bundt Cake}

Another beautiful weekend has come and gone.  I swear, this one flew by faster than the one before.  On Friday night I had dinner date plans with one of my best gal pals.  We attended a French wine dinner where we enjoyed four courses.  My favorite wine of them all was a sparkling wine.  I would imagine you’re not surprised by that.

winedinner

I was up fairly early on Saturday and was quite busy getting things in order before my grandparents arrived early morning.  Between assembling a breakfast casserole and getting myself ready, I managed to squeeze in a quick walk.  My grandparents arrived a little after 11am and after letting them stretch their legs a bit, we headed to lunch.  After lunch, we spent the afternoon enjoying the amazing weather on our back porch.  I loved having some one-on-one time with my grandparents – I share them with seven other grandchildren and three great grandchildren.  While we were enjoying each others company, Big Guy was hard at work on the ribs.  I had planned a menu I knew Mawmaw and Pawpaw would love including Big Guy’s “famous” ribs.  I refuse to give that recipe away but we also enjoyed a Green Goddess Potato Salad, Dill Pickle Slaw (SO GOOD) and a banana nut bundt cake.  We enjoyed dinner in between the two basketball games on Saturday evening.  The banana cake was incredibly moist and I loved the addition of walnuts (I typically go for pecans in my banana baked goods).  The frosting was sweet but so creamy and rich.  We were all stuffed to the brim after dinner.

grandparents

The meal was incredible but the company was even better.  My grandparents are seriously two of the most hospitable folks around.  Their beach house is a revolving door of grandkids and their friends during the summer.  It was a treat to be able to spoil them – even if it was for less than 24 hours.

On Sunday morning we enjoyed one last meal together before they packed up and headed out. Mawmaw is a huge college basketball fan so she wanted to make sure she was home in time for the games.  Big Guy and I straightened up the house and then headed out on a long walk at a new spot in town.  The weather couldn’t have been better.

The rest of Sunday was spent relaxing and watching basketball (Go Gamecocks!) and making pizza.  We also finally caught up on some DVR:  This Is Us and Criminal Minds (crazy storyline right now).

And now it’s Monday.

Thankfully I have a fun surprise visitor tomorrow which will be a fun break in the week.

 

 

Leave a Reply

