Italian Wedding Risotto Soup

Oh, hi!  Sorry about the disappearing act.  I know I say it every Monday (or in this case, Tuesday) but why, oh, why do the weekends go by so fast?  This past weekend was a blur including a visit from three of my favorite little people and an overnight stay in Raleigh filled with yummy sushi.  I spent the better part of yesterday afternoon straightening up the house as well as planning workouts for the week before going on a walk with a friend (the weather here is AMAZING…I really hope winter is over).

This soup was dinner on Friday as I finished up the last of the risotto.  We managed to use the risotto in three different dinners and each one was incredibly different so I really did feel like I was eating risotto all week long.

The Italian wedding soups is by far the easiest of the three recipes.  Mini meatballs are made using Italian sausage (about two links) and when I say mini, I mean mini.  Each meatball is about one teaspoon of sausage.  Once you’ve formed your meatballs, sauté onion (instead of shallot), garlic and red pepper flakes in a little bit of EVOO.  After about 5 minutes, add in the chicken stock and bring to a boil.  Gently drop in the sausage balls along with the last bit of risotto and lower to heat to simmer.  Cook for about 5 minutes, add in the greens (I used baby kale) and a little bit of salt.  Once the greens have wilted, it’s dinner time.

weddingsoup

Each bowl is finished with a little bit of grated Parmesan.  I loved the small amount of heat that came from the red pepper flakes and I loved the sausage meatballs.  Like I said, I didn’t feel like I was eating risotto at all.

And while Big Guy and I really enjoy leftovers, I know there are some leftover-haters out there.  BUT I feel like this is a way to utilize leftovers without feeling like you’re eating the same thing over and over.

Hope you’re having a great week!

Leave a Reply

