Flying Biscuit’s Creamy, Dreamy White Cheddar Grits

When we have overnight guests, I do my absolute best to plan menus that are made for the people that are visiting.  Like I mentioned yesterday, my parents still talk about the lamb chops that we had at one of our wedding parties years ago so I knew that lamb would be a winning dinner.  And a few weeks ago my dad commented on the homemade pasta we made that I featured on the blog so I really wanted to make homemade pasta while he was here.  My momma loves grits.  And crunchy bacon.  No matter where we go for breakfast or brunch, 99% of the time she orders grits, bacon and fruit.  So that’s just what we had on Sunday before they headed west.

grits

I decided to make some special grits and researched the recipe for the Flying Biscuit recipe.  It didn’t take my long to find a recipe that seemed legit.

Changes I made to the recipe:  I used whole milk instead of half and half and I used regular grits, not quick-cooking (only because those are items I had on hand).

The grits were amazing.  Super smooth, cheesy and perfect.  I really think using white pepper instead of black pepper makes a world of difference.

I served our grits with bacon (crunchy for Mom), sausage and some fruit.

Now my breakfast this morning seems really boring…

Leave a Reply

