Friday Favorites

Hey friends!  I hope you all had a great week.  I’m so excited that my parents are coming to visit us this weekend.  We have some fun meals planned for them and my mom and I will be doing a few “arts and crafts” for my sister-in-laws upcoming baby shower.  Being the oldest of four, it’s rare to get one-on-one time with your parents for more than a few hours so I really cherish the moments when they make the trip east to see us.  I hope you all have a lovely weekend and I’ll see you next week!

img_2017_01_30_09386-cropped

Favorite Unexpected:   Creamy Polenta with Roasted Beets.  What a fun combination of flavors and colors!  I could totally see us having this for a low-key Friday night dinner.

featured26

Favorite Snack Attack:  Healthy No-Bake Cookie Dough Bites.  I actually have all the ingredients for these little nuggets in the kitchen right this moment…

buttermilk-fried-chicken-9

Favorite Southern Sunday:  Buttermilk Fried Chicken.   It’s been over two years since we last made fried chicken and I’m starting to get the itch to fry up another batch of crispy, crunchy goodness.

product_magnolia_2_of_65_1024x1024

Favorite Non-Food Item:  Milo Bubble Vase.  Like I said last week, the WWW has been quite uninspiring this month.  BUT I do love this vase.  I find it hard to put just a few flowers into a large mouth vase and this one is perfect. (p.s. it’s really affordable, too)

poke-bowls-iowagirleats-final

Favorite Girls Night:  Poke Bowls with Sesame-Soy Almonds.    I could not pay Big Guy to eat this meal with me.  However, I have a friend or two who would devour this deliciousness right alongside me.

pineapple-and-bocconcini2

Favorite Small Bite:  Rosemary Pineapple Mozzarella Bites.  I feel like this appetizer would be perfect for so many occasions.  Cocktail hour…baby shower..a plate by yourself…

banana_bread_smoothie_bowl-3

Favorite Breakfast:  Banana Bread Smoothie.  I’m so ready for warmer weather so I can bring back my smoothie bowls!

cucumbergarlic

Favorite Side Dish:  Cucumbers in Garlic Sauce.  We are a pickle-obsessed household.  And these cucumbers look amazing!

mocha-cake-7

Favorite Slice:  Super Fudgy Mocha Layer Cake.  Oh my.  I might need to bake a cake soon.

pineapple-mint-prosecco-punch-5

Favorite Brunch:  Pineapple Mint Prosecco Punch.  What a fun combination!  A little departure from the usual brunch drink.

Cheers!

One thought on “Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

