Blueberry Breakfast Cookies

Last week I had the privilege to take dinner to a friend that just had a baby.  I absolutely love being able to share my love of cooking with others and am that girl that takes “orders” when it’s my turn to deliver.  This particular mom requested something healthy so I made a quinoa casserole that I knew would feed them for a few meals as well as keep the calories in check while still being delicious.  Since it was a casserole and only one dish, instead of dessert I made her some breakfast/snack cookies.  I honestly had no intention of sharing this recipe but after getting a text message claiming she was going to have to hide them from her toddler, I knew they were worth sharing.  Big Guy also ate these cookies for breakfast last week – he liked to warm them in the microwave and add some cashew butter on top.

bfastcookies

The cookies are absolutely full of good-for-you ingredients.  If you don’t have a lot of these ingredients on hand, I recommend heading to Trader Joes.  They have everything on the ingredient list and they’re priced much better than say Harris Teeter or Whole Foods.

In the mix (plus a few other ingredients)…

Coconut Oil – it doesn’t give the cookies a coconut flavor, so don’t be scared!
Coconut Sugar (I actually bought this at Walmart)
Banana – naturally sweetens the cookies
Flaxseed Meal – great source of Omega 3 and fiber
Cinnamon – not only does it taste delicious, it’s helps regulate hunger
Rolled Oats – a whole grain and full of fiber
Chia Seeds – a powerhouse ingredient!
Blueberries – full of good for you vitamins and fiber
Walnuts – sign me up for their antioxidant properties

They taste like a blueberry muffin and I promise you’ll love them!

 

One thought on “Blueberry Breakfast Cookies

Leave a Reply

