My Favorite Bowl of Oatmeal

There are three breakfast combinations that I eat on the regular.  You’ll find me digging into a bowl of yogurt with either raw oats or a crunchy cereal plus nut butter, a waffle with nut butter and two scrambled eggs or oatmeal.

Over the past several months I’ve found myself wanting oatmeal more and more – especially on cold mornings.  I haven’t always thought oatmeal was the most filling breakfast but I think I’ve come up with the winning combination that keeps me full and powers me through a couple of workouts some mornings.

oatmeal

Here’s how I make it:

Place 1/3 cup of oats, 1 cup of almond milk, a sprinkle of salt and 1 teaspoon of chia seeds in the saucepan.  I allow this to soak for about 10-15 minutes (while I drink a cup of coffee and do my morning devotion).  Turn the heat on and allow it to cook, stirring a lot until it begins to thicken and get super creaming.  Add in 3 tablespoons of egg whites or whites from 2 eggs at the very end of the cooking process (extra protein!) and stir until it’s cooked completely.  Move the oats to a bowl and top with a tablespoon of nut butter.

That’s for the basic oats!  You can mix it up by adding half of a sliced banana in during the first step for some added sweetness and extra creaminess.  You can top your oatmeal with the sprinkle of granola for some crunch.  Add cinnamon for an even more comfy bowl of oats.  The possibilities are endless.

What’s your go-to breakfast?  Oatmeal:  yay or nay?

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Bowl of Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

