Roasted Red Pepper & Ricotta Soup

If you have a handful of ingredients and 20 minutes, you can make this soup-er dinner.  I actually chose to whip up this dinner after starting at a half-full container of ricotta cheese and wondering “what the heck should I do with this?”  I knew I wanted something light (hello, I have to fit in formal dress this weekend) but I always wanted something warm and filling.  I flipped through my recipes and knew it was the one since I only needed to grab some roasted red peppers, a lemon and chives to have all the ingredients.

There’s no chopping and there’s no sautéing so it’s the perfect weeknight dinner.  You simply put the chicken broth, 2% milk (instead of half and half…just because), ricotta cheese, pepper, roasted red peppers and garlic in a blender and let it whirl until smooth.  Pour the cold soup into a saucepan and warm over medium.  Once warm, remove from the heat, add in some fresh lemon juice and salt and serve.  SO EASY!

redpeppersoup

It’s creamy.  It has a little spice from the pepper and the raw garlic.  And it’s perfect for a light dinner or lunch (leftovers!).

Sluuuuurrrrpppppp.

Leave a Reply

