Mert’s Heart and Soul {restaurant review}

I kind of forgot it was a “holiday” weekend since Big Guy had to work today!  But I won’t lie – we slept in a little and enjoyed a lovely breakfast together before he really got started with this work day.  I was able to get a lot done today:  a good PiYo workout at home, a long walk and I helped Big Guy around the house with chores that we needed to check off.

This past weekend we were in Charlotte with my family.  Big Guy flew into Charlotte on Friday afternoon so my parents and I picked him up before going on a little uptown adventure.  My parents decided it would be smart not to fight Friday traffic so we hopped on the light rail and headed into the heart of Charlotte.  I had never been on the light rail before though my Dad uses it quite often during the Panther’s football season.  We had a fun ride into town and then walked to Mert’s Heart and Soul for dinner.  The restaurant has been in Charlotte for almost 20 years yet I had never heard of it until a month ago when I went on the home tour in the Fourth Ward district.  Mert’s had a booth at one of the stops serving up their famous mac and cheese.  Let’s just say it’s amazing.  So much cheese but my favorite part is the little crispy edges on the outside.  My mom thought it would be a totally different eating experience that what we typically have in Charlotte and she was right.

We arrive before 6pm and we had no problem getting a table.  By the time we left, the restaurant was rather full and there were lots of people getting food to go.  We all shared the fried green tomatoes to start and for dinner I ordered the famous salmon cakes.  Most of the meals come with cornbread and it is perfection.  Seriously – probably the best cornbread I’ve ever had.  The mac and cheese wasn’t as good on Friday as the bite I had in December – but trust me, it wasn’t bad.  Cheese + pasta is rarely a bad thing.  The salmon cakes were way better than I expected.  They were FULL of salmon and held together very nicely.  I loved the dipping sauce that came on the side.

merts

After we filled our bellies, we walked down to the 7th St. Public Market to check it out.  And while we didn’t buy anything I hope I can make it back soon!  Coffee…pizza…crepes…wine…all under one roof.  Heaven.

It was such a fun, unexpected night out in Charlotte.  The rest of the weekend included a baby shower and then lots of time with my niece and nephew.  The weekend flew by, as usual, and I’m counting down the days until I see everyone again.

Have a great week, friends!

Leave a Reply

