Best Ever Microwave Hummus

No, that’s not a typo.  I made hummus in the microwave and it was amazing.

I’ve made hummus before and I’ve never in my life seen a microwave used.  But now I’m a believer.

This hummus is perfect for several reasons:

It’s delicious.

It’s healthy.

It makes an amazing lunch or snack.

It only requires six, SIX, ingredients.

BOOM.

microhummus

Here’s how you make it:

Place a can of chickpeas (including the liquid) plus a few cloves of garlic (I used four) in a microwave-safe bowl.  Microwave for about 5 minutes.

In your food processor, combine the chickpeas, garlic, about 1/2 cup tahini, 3/4 teaspoon salt and 1 tablespoon white wine vinegar (the recipe called for lemon juice, but I didn’t have any so I picked another acid).  Whirl and drizzle in 1 tablespoon on EVOO.  Scrape the sides and whirl again.

I popped mine in the fridge for a little bit and then topped it with a sprinkle of paprika for a little extra color and smokiness.

Ta-Da!  Microwave hummus!!!

 

Leave a Reply

