2017 Intentions

makeithappen

{image}

Make space.  Unsubscribe.  Say no.  

In 2017, I want to make space by cleaning out some of our closets.  We have coats that neither of us have ever worn and there are tops that I don’t even know are in my closet.  I plan on “unsubscribing” in 2017 by removing myself from email lists instead of deleting the emails every.single.day.  I’m also going to stop following people on social media outlets that don’t bring me happiness.  And finally, saying “no.”  It’s a powerful thing.  There’s no need to commit to events or groups or committees that don’t fulfill me.  So just “no.”

Grace not perfection.

“The perfect constructed, magazine-worthy life does not equal happiness.  Happiness isn’t found in the prettiest Instagram feed or in a large number of Facebook friends.  True joy isn’t found in having it all together.  The good life is rich, slow, real and flawed.”  – “Grace Not Perfection by Emily Ley”  I’m making my way through this this gorgeous book and my hope is that I stop striving for perfection (it doesn’t exist) and instead fill my days with the people, the moments and the things that matter the most.

 

Find joy in the journey.

I have no idea what this year will hold.  I have my perfect vision of 2017 but I know that my reality and my daydreams are very different.  Both beautiful but very different.  I want to find joy in every day over the next 12 months.  I want to get to December 31, 2017 and feel fulfilled with what I accomplished (or didn’t accomplish) in 2017.

What are your intentions for 2017?
Happy New Years, friends.  

One thought on “2017 Intentions

  1. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the book! I just started reading it as well and am hoping to find ways to make our crazy lives a little more manageable, so we can slow down and enjoy life more!

Leave a Reply

