Slow-Cooker Chicken Chili {plus 2017!}

Happy New Year!  I saw so many negative posts on social media about 2016 over the weekend and while there were some hard, dark days, I think every year is something to celebrate.  There is always going to be good days and bad days but honestly, each day is a gift.

Big Guy and I spent the entire weekend at home, hanging out, laughing and cooking some amazing food.  It was perfection.  I’ve been one to put too much pressure on NYE in the past and it never really lives up to the hype.  This year I had no expectations.  And guess what?  It worked to my advantage.  I plan on writing a post on my “intentions” (not resolutions” for 2017 in the near future but I need to think a little more on what I want to focus on.

So instead, I’ll leave you with a warming dinner that is perfect for these dreary winter days that we’ve had in North Carolina.  This chicken chili is actually what we had for dinner on Christmas Eve – chili and/or soup has been a tradition we started a few years back to take away from the stress of preparing dinner after a busy day.

The slow cooker does most of the work for you leaving you only with chicken to shred before serving.  The chicken was so tender I barely had to touch it to shred.  We used chicken breasts instead of thighs because it’s what the store had at the moment.

chickenchili

I think my favorite part of the chili was the hominy (LOVE!) and the delicious yogurt sauce on top.  The yogurt sauce was a mix of Greek yogurt, green chiles and cilantro – super simple but super yummy.

I’m thinking one of my 2017 intentions needs to be using my slow cooker more…

Leave a Reply

