Thai Basil Chicken

Christmas 2016 has come and gone – can you believe it?  The past week was filled to the brim with family and laughter.  We spent the first part of “Christmas break” with my parents in my hometown before heading to the mountains on the 26th to spend some time with Big Guy’s family.

I felt beyond blessed to be with my family for three whole days.  And the best was when we were ALL together.  OH, and in some exciting news, I’m going to be getting a new sister soon.  My youngest brother proposed to his girlfriend before Christmas so we were able to celebrate that exciting news, too.

allthebells

Christmas day was non-stop from 7am until 11pm, in fact, Big Guy and I didn’t get to exchange gifts until 10pm.  Despite how exhausting the day can be, it’s always so much fun and by far one of my favorite days of the year.

We got up on the 26th and helped clean up the mess from the night before and then hit the road to the mountains.  Big Guy’s dad rented a mountain house for us all for a few days and it was the perfect post-Christmas retreat.  I always find the 26th to be kind of depressing because all the “fun” is over but our fun started all over again.  I am so thankful for the time I was able to spend with his sisters.

watsongals

We arrived back at home late yesterday afternoon and spent the evening unloading seven days worth of Christmas.  Today was spent taking down Christmas.  And while I’m always sad to see the magic of Christmas be put back into boxes, I’m also glad to have my living room back.  The house is clean and ready for a weekend at home.

Obviously our fridge is quite bare after being away for so long, so a quick trip to the store was necessary.  (p.s. I am not a fan of coffee with almond milk…which is all we had this morning)  While putting together a grocery list, I jumped online to try and find an easy recipe for dinner.  It didn’t take me long to come across Thai Basil Chicken which looked not only easy but had a simple ingredient list.

thaibasilchicken

Dinner was delicious!  It came together in under 30 minutes with only 7 ingredients – most of which were in my fridge or pantry.

Tomorrow is not only NYE but it’s also Big Guy’s birthday!  We’re going to keep things low-key but I can assure you that our menu for the weekend is worthy of a birthday.

Cheers to all that was 2016 and all that is to come in 2017.

 

 

Leave a Reply

