Sausage Balls

I pride myself on not making the same thing over and over again.  But there are some things in life that are so good that they deserve to be made over and over again.  Sausage balls are not only delicious but they’ve been a Christmas tradition since I can remember (along with monkey bread, grits casserole and a sausage and egg casserole).  Mimosas are also a tradition – but they’ve only been around for 12 or so years.

I have vivid memories of my sister and me being in the kitchen on December 24th after church in our Christmas pajamas mixing together three ingredients that always produce a Christmas morning favorite.

Over the years, as we’ve gotten married, some of the traditions have been tweaked – I don’t like the word “changed.”  I’ve slowly taken over the sausage ball making and Maggie has taken responsibly of the monkey bread.  This year, in order to make the days before Christmas a little less crazy, I decided I would make the sausage balls in advance.  And after years and years of making sausage balls, I have a few tricks that will make sausage ball making a million times easier and cleaner.

sausageballs

For the original sausage balls you’ll need:  1 pound sausage, 1 pound block of cheddar cheese and 2 cups Bisquick.

There are two kitchen appliances that I highly recommend you use (though I haven’t always used them):  your KitchenAid mixer and your food processor.

First, mix the sausage and the Bisquick in your KitchenAid mixer until combined.  This means scraping off the paddle several times.

Second, use your food processor with the grater blade to grate your cheese – LIFE CHANGING!

Once the cheese is grated, add that to the mixer and whirl away, scraping off the paddled a few times as needed.

I lined my baking sheets with aluminum foil and baked for about 22 minutes.  Allow the sausage balls to remain on the baking sheet for about 5 minutes before removing the cooked sausage balls.  Then allow to cool completely on parchment paper before added to a large Ziplock bag.  Store in the fridge and simply microwave before serving.

(Cream cheese sausage balls:  1 pound sausage, 1/2 pound block cheddar cheese, 8 ounces softened cream cheese and 1 1/2 cups Bisquick)

I now have 200 sausage balls ready to go for Christmas morning – and I am taking bets on whether you think they’ll all be gone or not by 2pm.

 

Leave a Reply

