Christmas Baking 2016

On the 1st day of Christmas my true love the anti-technology gods gave to me, an iPhone that woooon’t work.  Y’all.  I’m on the brink of an anxiety attack.  Last night I reluctantly decided to update my phone (all because of a dang avocado emoji) and well, it froze.  I went through the same steps I went through a month ago when this happened and nothing.  Finally this morning, at 3:30am, I was able to restore my phone only to have it freeze up again.  This time, I can see the screen and that I have text messages but touching the screen does nothing.  OH, and if it tells me Hello in all the languages of the world any more I’m going to throw it across the room.  I know it seems silly, but say a little prayer that when I have my call at 8:15am with an Apple Tech person that they know more than me and can solve the problem.

In order to avoid a nervous breakdown, let’s talk about recipes!  For the past several years, I pick a day (typically a Sunday) to bake all the things.  I put together little boxes of treats to take to friends around town.  I know I’ll be making a few bundt cakes but I also want to make at least one cookie.  Help me decide!

img_0414

Chewy Gingerbread Cookies.  All the flavors of Christmas rolled into one soft, chewy cookie.  Super simple but would be incredible on any cookie platter.

chocolate-espresso-thumbprint-cookies-6-1

Chocolate Espresso Thumbprint Cookies.   These bite sized cookies look insanely decadent and rich.  Perfect for all the chocolate lovers out there.

wgc-christmas-crack-2-copy1

Christmas Crack.  A non-cookie option!  A family friend brings a big bag of this addictive mix over to my parents every year.  It’s salty and sweet and it keeps in the freezer (!!!!).

monique-cookie-week-5

Old Fashioned Iced Brown Butter Oatmeal Cookies.  I adore oatmeal cookies.  Filled with cinnamon and browned butter, these chewy cookies sound incredible.

cranberry-almond-shortbread

Cranberry Almond Shortbread Bars.   Soft, buttery and filled with sweet cranberries and zesty orange peel.  These remind me of a treat I’ve seen at Starbucks in the past.  These would be amazing with a cup of coffee.

christmas-chocolate-chip-cookies-1

Christmas Chocolate Chip Cookies.  Who can resist a cookies full of chocolate chips and green and red M&Ms?  Not me.

31378245705_a95eacd855_o

Five Ingredient Cheese Straws.  A little something savory!  Cheese straws are a staple in the South at holiday parties.  This homemade version requires only five ingredients and would be the perfect for the non-sweet tooth person in your life.

white-chocolate-ginger-cookies-4

White Chocolate Ginger Cookies.  Spicy and sweet!  A classic Christmas cookie with some festive decorations.  So pretty!

 

So what should be on my list for this year!?!  My baking day is coming up this Sunday.  I think I’m going to try some apple cider mulled wine for the first time and just spend the day listening to Christmas music, watching Christmas music and making an absolute mess in the kitchen.

One thought on “Christmas Baking 2016

Leave a Reply

