Friday Favorites

Let’s see…It’s the last official Friday before the craziness of the holi-daze sets in for a good month or so.  I felt the craziness in the form of knots in my shoulder all week long.  So think weekend I’m relaxing and doing my best to take one day at a time, one holiday at a time.  It’s so easy to get caught up in things and then you feel yourself not enjoying all the joy that there is this the of year.

So what do we have going on, you ask?  A completely low-key Friday night (perhaps even a before-9pm bedtime.  Saturday is the last home game for the Pirates so we’re taking a couple of friends with us (HEY, Marlo!) so we can have a fun little tailgate before sitting in the stands for a true fall football game.  And as we typically have done, Big Guy and I will have a mini-thanksgiving on Sunday.  We started doing this before we were engaged and didn’t celebrate Thanksgiving together and we enjoyed it so much so that it’s become a tradition.  We look a few non-traditional things or dishes that we won’t normally be eating next Thursday.

Here are my Friday Favorites for the week (and yes, they are ALL food related because well, that’s what’s on my mind)…

HyperFocal: 0

Favorite Guide:  The Ultimate Thanksgiving Menu/Prep Schedule.  Did you just have a heart attack when I mentioned that Thanksgiving is less than a week away?  Here is something that will help you!  Tons of recipes as well as when to prep what.  You’re welcome.

labneh-001

Favorite Last Minute:  Holiday Yogurt Dip with Pomegranate.  With less than 5 ingredients (EVOO and salt don’t count) this is the perfect appetizer for that party you have after work or an easy Thanksgiving appetizer that won’t involve too much work while you’re busy doing everything else.

img_5071

Favorite “Appy” Hour:  Soppressata, Goat Cheese and Fig Pastry Pinwheels.  I can’t decide if these should happen for our mini-Thanksgiving, the real Thanksgiving, Christmas or New Years.  Regardless of when – they’re happening.

sweet-and-savory-cheesy-bacon-holiday-crack-5

Favorite Addicting:  Cheesy Bacon Holiday Crack.   Now these little nuggets will not be a Thanksgiving appetizer.  You see, I’d eat so many that I wouldn’t have room for the real meal.

gooey-chocolate-chip-cookie-pie-7

Favorite Sweet Tooth:  Gooey Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie.  Sure, I like pumpkin pie and pecan pie this time of year but I don’t love either as much as I love chocolate.  Especially a spin on a chewy, gooey chocolate chip cookie.

sesame-mashed-potatoes4

Favorite Non-Traditional:  Toasted Sesame Mashed Potatoes.    I’m more of a sweet potato girl at Thanksgiving but I love the addition of toasted sesame oil for a hint of a little something different.

dsc_0161-3-768x1144

Favorite Old School:  Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff.  I’m totally departing from the Thanksgiving theme with this one.  BUT this could be an amazing change of pace from turkey the weekend after Thanksgiving.  I just love beef stroganoff.

cranberry-chai-sangria-i-howsweeteats-com-9

Favorite Tipsy:  Cranberry Chai Sangria.  Forget the cranberry sauce – toss some into your sangria and call it good.  But seriously, while I’ll be making my “famous” apple cider sangria on Thanksgiving, I’m looking for an excuse to make this version.

 

Happy Weekend!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

