Present Over Perfect {a book review}

“Present Over Perfect…Leaving Behind Frantic for a Simpler, More Soulful Way of Living.”  The minute I saw this book title while scrolling through my Instagram feed I knew I needed to add it to my reading list.  Less than a month after I featured it in a “Friday Favorites” post, I ordered the book and once I started reading, I was finished in a week.

I saw myself in a lot of the chapters – even though I’m quite the opposite of the writer.  As I was reading the book though, I realized that no matter who you are, you can see yourself in the words on the pages.  Everyone can relate to this book in someway.  I immediately thought of friends in some sections of the book and wanted to immediately send them a copy.

And while I loved the book, I found myself wanting more.  I was expecting more details on how to make changes in my day to day life so that I can achieve “present over perfect.”   I know some of you will run out and read the book yourself and others won’t think about it again – so I’ve left some of the “aha” Oprah moments below…

51fjbzqwmyl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

 

“But you can’t have ‘yes’ without ‘no.’ Another way to say it :  if you’re not careful with your ‘yeses,’ you start to say ‘no’ to some very important things without even realizing it…’Yes’ is fun and sparkly and printed on tote bags…[But ‘no’] puts the brakes on your screaming-fast life and give you a chance to stop and inspect just exactly what you’ve created for yourself, as difficult as that might be.”

“This is what I know for sure:  along the way you will disappoint someone…But here’s the good news:  you get to decide who you’re going to disappoint, who you’re going to say ‘no’ to.”

We get to shape our days and our weeks, and if we don’t, they’ll get shaped by the wide catch-all of ‘normal’ and ‘typical,’ and who wants that? … You can wear slippers or heels, eat steak or kale, read poetry or spreadsheets…You get to make your life.  In fact, you have to.”

“Sometimes brave looks more like staying when you want to leave, telling the truth when all you want to do is change the subject.”

“[Present over perfect] is about learning to show up and let ourselves be seen just as we are, massively imperfect and weak and wild and flawed in a thousand ways, but still worth loving.  It’s about realizing that what makes our lives meaningful is not what we accomplish, but how deeply and honestly we connect with the people in our lives, how wholly we give ourselves to the making of a better world, through kindness and courage.”

And perhaps the author never intended to give me the tools to be more “present over perfect.”  Perhaps I have to use my own life tools and do some soul searching to shape my life in a more soulful way.

Leave a Reply

