What’s Gaby Cooking Cookbook Club {EVERYDAYCOOK}

When Gaby, over at What’s Gaby Cooking, mentioned starting a cookbook club I was ecstatic.  I mean, I love reading recipes and flipping through cookbooks.  At the beginning of October she announced the first cookbook and I immediately headed over to Barnes and Noble and ordered the book.

alton-brown-everydaycook-cookbook-cover

A little bit about this cookbook:

My name is Alton Brown and I wrote this book.  It’s my first in a few years because I’ve been a little busy with TV stuff and inter webs stuff and live stage show stuff.  Sure, I’ve been cooking, but it’s been mostly to feed myself and people in my immediate vicinity – which is really what a cook is supposed to do, right?  Well, one day I was sitting around trying to organize my recipes, and I realized that I should put them into a personal collection.  One thing led to another, and here’s “EveryDayCook.”  There’s still plenty of science and hopefully some humor in here, but unlike my other books, a lot of attention went into the photos, where were all taken on my iPhone (take that, Instagram) and are suitable for framing.  As for the recipes, which are arranged by time of day, their pretty darned tasty.

I looked through the book no less than 15 times before finally picking the recipes I wanted to try.  And this past weekend we whipped up several of the recipes from the cookbook.

beetsalad

The Tossed Beet Salad which was incredibly light and featured roasted beets, red onion, fennel, pear, jicama, goat cheese and a lovely red wine vinaigrette.

burgers.JPG

The Beale Street Cheeseburgers are absolutely insane and indulgent and you will never doubt a fried cheeseburger ever again after the first bite.

bbqchips

Along with the burgers, a batch of BBQ Potato Chips that could rival any Lay’s potato chips.

And for something sweet…

blondies

Brown on Blonde blondies that are perfectly nutty and buttery and chewy and crispy and SO GOOD.

Other recipes that I have my eye on:

Chicken Parmesan Balls

Oyster Po’Boy

Not Just Another Kale Salad

Green Grape Cobbler

Onion Oxtail Soup

The General’s Fried Chicken

Cider House Fondue

I absolutely love how this “club” is making me want to cook out of my cookbooks again.

Here’s what I like about this cookbook:

  • Alton is precise.  You know exactly what you’re supposed to do and don’t find yourself questioning the methods.
  • There are not a lot of weird ingredients.  Most of the stuff I can find in our small town which is nice – so many cookbooks have ingredients that I have to either order or drive to Raleigh to get.
  • I love the pictures in the cookbook.

And here are some things that aren’t my favorite about the cookbook:

  • Some of the recipes are so precise that you have to use a scale to measure (like the blondies) every.single.ingredient.
  • He has some kitchen tools that are necessary for some recipes that I just don’t have.  And I have a pretty well-stocked kitchen.

I can’t wait to see what cookbook Gaby chooses for November!  So go check out the cookbook, borrow from a  friend (or me) or purchase it for yourself and get to cooking!

 

One thought on “What’s Gaby Cooking Cookbook Club {EVERYDAYCOOK}

Leave a Reply

