Friday Favorites

**My thoughts and prayers are with everyone recovering from the aftermath of Hurricane Matthew.  While we were in the midst of the mess, we remained unharmed by the damaging winds and high water.  Our small town of Rocky Mount is a mess, our family in Lumberton remains under water and it’s going to be quite a while until our college town of Greenville is back to normal.**

It feels like fall!  And we have a fun filled fall weekend on tap with friends.  I can’t wait to recap our shenanigans but until then I leave you with some of my favorites (fall inspired) from the week!

game-day-chili-i-howsweeteats-com-7

Favorite Tailgate:  Game Day Beer Chili.  I’m crossing my fingers it gets cool enough for Big Guy to agree to chili sometime over the next month.  I have so many chili recipes I want to try and this one is high on the list.

wgc-office-3-e1472602667148

Favorite Idea:  Cookbook Club.  Since this is virtual, I am totally going to participate.  Here’s how it works:  “Each month [Gaby will] announce the cookbook of the month and then we can buy it, borrow it, check it out from the library and cook! Cook by yourself, invite your friends over, host your own cookbook club with the assigned book, whatever floats your boat. The idea is for us all to cook recipes from the same book in the same month.”   This month:  Alton Brown – EveryDayCook.

skinnytaste_slow_cooker_chicken_taco_chili_recipe-2-1200x1800

Favorite Crock Pot Meal:  Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Chili.   SkinnyTaste just came out with a new cookbook and I can’t wait to get my hands on it!  This taco chili looks totally comforting while also being healthy.  The perfect weeknight dinner.

pbbw1-24448313enh-z8

Favorite Transition:  Fall Candles.    It’s time for me to switch out my candles.  Bring on the apples, pumpkins and all things fall smelling.

img_8592-1-2

Favorite Date Night:  Creamy Goat Cheese and Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta with Roasted Garlic and Mushrooms.  Creamy, tangy, salty, rich.  Evvvvvverything.

1b0d02b31bd86d7e2fa8c1c70c62e436

Favorite Comfy:  Signature Cotton Fisherman Tunic Sweater.    Not going to lie, I’d love to be wearing this sweater with leggings curled up on the couch eating the above carb-filled plate along with a glass of wine.

roasted-butternut-squash-apple-burrata-pizza-6

Favorite Sunday:  Roasted Butternut Squash Apple Burrata Pizza.    I can’t find anything wrong with this pizza.

never-fail-blondie-bars-1-16

Favorite Chewy:  Never Fail Blondie Bars.  I think I a platter of these sweet treats needs to happen next weekend.

95ff905b6b303e05dc5beff31f442007

Favorite Trend:  The Striped Turtleneck.  Except it’s not really a trend to me – it’s a fall staple.  And I’m in need of an updated version.

gin-apple-lemon-ginger-beer-cocktail-1

Favorite Cocktail:  Fall All Over.  This drink reminds me of a moscow mule but with gin instead of vodka.  Let’s give it a try!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

