2nd Annual Flamingo Fling Review

HI!  I’m home after a wonderful weekend with my Momma and sister for our annual Flamingo Fling.  It was quite the relaxing weekend and it’s always a treat to have some uninterrupted time with two of my favorite ladies.

We enjoyed mocktails and wine promptly at 5pm on Friday to kick-off the festivities.

cheers

With our drinks we snacked our way through dinner.  We enjoyed some bacon wrapped dates, a fantastic cucumber dip (Momma, can you send me that recipe?!?!) Thai Chicken Lettuce Wraps that were inspired by a recipe in this cookbook (I used cashew butter instead of peanut butter and cashews instead of peanuts; I wish I would have added some chopped water chestnuts) and some brie with roasted veggies.

lettucewraps

The chicken wraps were a little spicy, a little sweet, a little crunchy and a whole lot of delicious.

brie

I think my favorite bite was a little brie with roasted potatoes.  So yummy.

After we filled our bellies, we settled in for movie night.  We watched The Choice and it was the perfect chick-flick for the weekend.

flamingofling

On Saturday we spent most of the day in the sun and snacked on some dill pickle popcorn from Trader Joes (addicting!!!!) and enjoyed a Mexican-inspired evening with guacamole, quesadillas (grilled corn and green onion shrimp quesadillas from the same cookbook that I linked above) and game of Mexican Train (a twist on dominoes).

quesadilla

The quesadillas were SO good and we may or may not have snuck out on the golf cart for a quick trip to Sunset Slush.  

Sunday morning we headed to our favorite little coffee shop for breakfast before my youngest brother took us out on the boat for a little fun in the sun before Flamingo Fling came to an end.

Unfortunately Maggie had to hit the road after a quick lunch of leftovers but my Momma and I stayed another night.  We played Yahtzee and ate even more leftovers before watching some HGTV to end the weekend.

I am so grateful for the past several days and hope that we’re able to make this a tradition for many, many years to come.  Life is incredibly busy but sometimes you just need to pump the brakes and enjoy a little time with the ones you love.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

