Friday Favorites

The 2nd Annual Flamingo Fling weekend is here!!!

For all of you wondering “what the heck is a flamingo fling?” – let me explain.  Last year my Momma wanted to have all the girls in the immediate family go to the beach for a girls-only weekend.  We picked a weekend and it earned the title “Flamingo Fling.”  We had so much fun that we had to do it again this year (and I’m hoping it becomes an annual tradition).

So as soon as I’m finished teaching barre class this morning, I’m hittin’ the road and headed to the beach.  I can’t wait to be reunited with my Momma and sister.  I plan on playing board games, perhaps having a movie night and eating my weight in guacamole.

Here are my favorites from the week:

hushpuppies

Favorite Nostalgia:  Hushpuppy Panzanella Salad.  I have vivid memories of eating hushpuppies hot out of the fryer as a kid at my Pawpaw’s beach house.  This is a grown-up way of eating the Southern staple.

coconut-cream-pie2b-2b3

Favorite From Scratch:  Coconut Cream Pie.  I am a sucker for anything coconut-flavored. Also, I haven’t made a pie in a while.

3062946-poster-p-1-his-100-year-old-to-do-list-hack-still-works-like-a-charm

Favorite 4-Minute Read:  This 100-Year-Old To-Do List Hack Still Works Like a Charm.  This is the simplest method for increasing productivity.  I’m going to give it a try!

cajun-garlic-lemon-butter-shrimp-with-caramelized-corn-polenta-1

Favorite Date Night:  Cajun Garlic Lemon Butter Shrimp with Caramelized Corn Polenta.  Two words:  Holy yum!

2fedc8e552318610e926a200ee4e6314

Favorite Fried:  Crispy Avocado Egg Rolls.  I love everything about this ingredient list.

b9da1a54db27f2351b43d380934a1b4f

Favorite Round-up:  31 Trader Joe’s Products You Can’t Live Without.  I don’t go to TJ’s near as often as I used to but I love seeing with other peoples MUST HAVES.  The items I can’t live without from TJ’s: oats, nut butter, nuts, cheeeeeeses, and gluten-free waffles.

crostini

Favorite Entertaining:  Fig, Hazelnut & Ricotta Crostinis.  So I want to host a little get together and have a crostini bar.  Sweet, savory and everything in between.  I love this little combo!

toppings

Favorite Mix It Up:  150-Calorie Oatmeal Toppings.  I love hot oats – even in the summer.  My favorite combo to try:  Salted Chocolate Chip.  Yes.

broccoli-rabe-and-sausage-parsnip-spiralized-pasta-5

Favorite Spiralized:  Broccoli Rabe and Sausage Parsnip Pasta.  It’s been a hot minute since I used my little spiralizer – and I’ve never even thought of using parsnips.  Let’s do it!

vsco-photo-1-1-1280x1280

Favorite Pop the Cork:  Pro Tips – Ask a Sommelier.  Some verrrrry helpful information regarding buying wine at the grocery store and picking wine at a restaurant.  If you’re wanting to step up your wine game and go beyond a cheap weeknight whatever wine, a good price range to get into at a quality wine shop is $18-25. 

 

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

