Black-Eyed Pea Cakes with Corn Salsa

For some reason I don’t think to cook with black-eyed peas very often.  To be honest, it’s about once a year – New Year’s Day.  But when I was flipping through the most recent issue of Cooking Light I couldn’t help but want to put these black-eyed pea cakes on the dinner menu.  I think my desire to want and make this dinner was the ability to use some of the veggies and herbs from our garden.

Sweet Corn

Tomatoes

Parsley

The cakes honestly come together in no time and the most time consuming part is the cooking of the cakes.

The black-eyed pea cakes are made by combining black-eyed peas (that were pulsed a few times in the food processor), panko (I used gluten-free breadcrumbs), sliced green onions, salt, cayenne pepper and two lightly beaten eggs.  The mixture is then formed into eight cakes and cooked in a little EVOO for about five minutes on each side.  I cooked mine in two batches and kept the cooked cakes warm in the oven set at 250 degrees.

Once all the cakes were cooked, I prepared the salsa by sautéing the corn in the same skillet that I cooked the cakes.  The corn is then tossed with cherry tomatoes, a little vinegar (I used white wine vinegar), parsley, 1/2 cup black-eyed peas, plus a little salt and pepper.

blackeyedpeacakes

This dinner was light and I thought that the cakes stayed together very well.  Big Guy and I both adored the corn salsa on top.  So fresh!

Black-eyed peas brings prosperity if you eat them on New Year’s Day…I’m hoping that they bring prosperity no matter when you eat them.

Leave a Reply

