Mourning and Dancing

This post deviates from my normal recipe-sharing ways but I simply can’t ignore the reality behind the blog.  Big Guy’s Mom is incredibly sick and was moved to hospice this morning.  This post is simply a place for me to share what’s helping me during this journey.  I promise to be back soon with normal programming.  Below are excerpts from the current 2-week reading plan on She Reads Truth.

Ecclesiastes 3 tells us there is a time for every matter under heaven.

A time to be born, and a time to die.
A time to plant, and a time to uproot.
A time to weep, and a time to laugh.
A time to mourn, and a time to dance.

“Mourning and dancing—they don’t always take turns. Not in my story, not in yours, not in our world. While people celebrate weddings and first steps and the sweetness of life, the broken world continues to break our hearts, sometimes at the very same time. The tension is there—wondering when to celebrate and when to cry. Often the best thing we can do is acknowledge that tension and do both, seeking the Lord as we navigate the complexities of this world.

We must never stop mourning brokenness. It is right to mourn.
And we must never cease to celebrate life and beauty. It is right to dance.”

I leave you tonight with a verse that I read this morning as part of my daily devotion.  While I’m certain I’ve read it before today was the day that I needed to read it again.

“Therefore we do not give up. Even though our outer person is being destroyed, our inner person is being renewed day by day. For our momentary light affliction is producing for us an absolutely incomparable eternal weight of glory. So we do not focus on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”
-2 Corinthians 4:16-18

2 thoughts on “Mourning and Dancing

  1. And knowing that the unseen is eternal is what keeps us from completely falling apart. Beautiful words sweet lady. Terri’s comments on your blog always made me realize how much she truly adores you!

Leave a Reply

