Egg and Tomato Open-Faced Sandwiches with Cheddar Zucchini Chips

Happy Monday, friends!  I hope y’all had a great weekend.  My sister and brother-in-law were in town and we enjoyed taking them to a wine dinner on Friday evening and then relaxing by the pool on Saturday.  After a quick visit with friends to the new brewery in town, Koi Pond, we headed home for an afternoon and night of good food and laughs.  And while I was sad to see them leave yesterday morning, we have multiple “reunions” coming up that I have to look forward to.

If you’re anything like me, come Monday I crave light, vegetarian dinners.  This open-faced sandwich is not only easy, peasy to throw together but it’s also the perfect, light end to Monday.

Toasted bread is topped with about 1 tablespoon of sundried tomato hummus followed by lettuce and a slice of heirloom tomato.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and then add a sprinkle of chopped olives.  Finally, the sandwich is finished off with a fried egg.

I served this sandwich with cheddar zucchini chips that I made by slicing up a zucchini and then topping with a mix of shredded cheddar and breadcrumbs plus some salt and pepper. The zucchini is then broiled for 5 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and the tops begin to brown.

eggtomatosandwich

I hope you all have a great week (bonus:  it’s a short week for me)!

Leave a Reply

