Ginger Ice Cream with Chocolate Bits

Oh, hey!  I would apologize for not posting the past several days but I’m not sorry.  I’ve been soaking up time with the family at the beach and it was glorious.  I didn’t even Instagram or take pictures of food while I was away.  I hope everyone had a safe and happy 4th of July.  I swear, the days just keep going by faster and fast.  Slow down, Summer!!!!

Tuesday was brutally hot at the beach and this coming weekend doesn’t look any better around here.  I see lots of pool time and cold beverages in my future.

To keep you cool, here’s a refreshing and incredibly “different” ice cream recipe that I beg you to try if you’re a fan of ginger.

gingericecream

Ginger Ice Cream with Chocolate Bits has a touch of spiciness from the ginger but it’s still smooth, refreshing and creamy thanks to whole milk and half-and-half.  The little bits of chocolate are like finding a little treasure in each and every bite.

The key to good homemade ice cream is to give yourself plenty of time to freeze the base of the ice-cream maker (we keep ours in the freezer); cool down the ice cream base; churn and then time to let the ice cream set up in the freezer for a few hours.  I try and start the day before I’m ready to scoop.

What’s your favorite ice cream flavor on a hot summer day?

Leave a Reply

