Greek Marinated Flank Steak + Hummus Platter

This is my new favorite plate of food.  So many flavors.  So many textures.

hummusplate

We put together this plate last Saturday and every bite was epic.

On the platter:

Greek Marinated Flank Steak

Homemade Pita Bread

Roasted Red Peppers

Tzatziki

Garlic Hummus

Cucumber, Tomato and Feta Salad

I prepped a lot of the food the day before so it really came together fairly easy.  I prepped the salad the day before (added the feta the day of); I marinated the flank steak overnight (it uses the same dressing as the salad) and I made the tzatziki the day before (super easy – simply throw it all in the food processor and whirl).

The key to homemade hummus is tahini and peeling the chickpeas.  Yep, peeling the chickpeas.  If you follow me on SnapChat, you know this already.  It takes a little time, but it’s totally worth it.  I added a bunch of garlic to the hummus because I heart hummus.

The pita bread is a lot like making pizza dough.  The big difference is how you cook the pita.  The dough is split into smaller pieces and rolled as thin as possible.  Once you’re ready for the pita, heat up a cast iron skillet and cook until bubbly, flip and cook for about a minute and flip one more time until browned and crispy.

I am now obsessed with homemade pita bread.

I can’t even pick my favorite part of the plate – it was all amazing!!!!!

I’m looking forward to many more bites like these when we’re in Greece.

 

3 thoughts on “Greek Marinated Flank Steak + Hummus Platter

Leave a Reply

