Pickle-Brined Chicken Tenders

If you’re a fan of Chick-fil-A chicken sandwiches, you’re going to flip over these pickle-brined chicken tenders.  Because that is exactly what they tasted like to me.  Now, if you ask for your chicken sandwich without pickles, I’m rolling my eyes.

Big Guy and I go through quite our fair share of dill pickles.  And at any given moment there are at least 5 jars of something pickled in our fridge.  (Current count:  6)  And I always hate pouring the leftover pickle juice down the drain once the last pickle is eaten.  But now you don’t have to throw away your pickle juice.  Instead, use it as a brine for your chicken.

The chicken is brined for 8 hours and then completely dried off.  Dip it into the egg mixture and then in the breadcrumb-panko mixture (I used gluten-free of both).  Spray with cooking spray or EVOO and bake at 425 degrees (10 minutes on the first side, turn and then 6 more minutes).

The end result is everything.  Crispy chicken tenders that have the faintest pickle flavor.  They are out of this world.

picklechiken

I served the chicken tenders with some sautéed okra from our garden as well as some gorgeous watermelon radishes that I roasted.

I felt like a kid eating chicken tenders (cannot remember the last time I ate tenders) and it made me crave a Chick-fil-A sandwich like WHOA.

Pickles – fan or not?

Leave a Reply

