Half-Way There {2016 goal check-in}

It’s kind of hard to believe that this week marks the half-way mark of 2016.  Like, where did January through June go?  I thought it would be fun to check-in on the goals I set for myself back in January and see how I’m doing.

e98c6f9dfa693c1ea657cb3cc504f78a

image source

Read more.  I’ve absolutely been better about reading more.  In fact, in the past couple of months I’ve finished reading “Saving Grace” by Jane Green; “Dancing on Broken Glass” by Ka Hancock; “Beach Town” by Mary Kay Andrews; and I’m almost finished with “Here’s to Us” by Elin Hilderbrand.

Focus on happiness.  This goal is something that I have to decide I’m going to do every.single.day.  Someday’s it’s not easy and sometimes I have to give myself a “smack across the face” in the middle of the day but it totally makes life easier if you focus on the good rather than the not-so-good.

Be the best me.  I think that I’m doing really well at this goal.  I could totally be a little more patient at times – but couldn’t we all?  I’ve learned to ignore some of the negatively around me because it does nothing but pull me down with it.

Practice and study to become a Core Barre instructor.  In April I attended a 3-day training in Charlotte.  I passed the written test but had three months to submit my final practical video.  I submitted my video about a week and a half ago and I am so excited to say that this morning I had an email in my inbox telling me “Congratulations.”  I PASSED!!!!!  I am incredibly proud of myself and incredibly thankful for all those that have supported me.  Bring on the pulses and tilts.

So what will the rest of 2016 hold?  There’s no telling.  Hopefully reading a lot more books (preferably by the pool), focusing on being happy every day regardless of the circumstances, being the best person I can be and challenging not only myself but also all the ladies I teach in barre every week.

 

Leave a Reply

