Friday Favorites

The last weekend of June and the first official weekend of summer has arrived.  I’m looking forward to supper club this evening with friends followed by a Saturday and Sunday full of fun and sun.  I’m going to soak up every second of this low-key weekend because after this, the summer schedule starts to look a little cray-cray (in the best way possible).

No matter where you are –  I hope your weekend is full of all the good things that summer brings.

Here are my favorites from the week:

artichoke-chicken-skewers-i-howsweeteats-com-4

Favorite Grilled:  Chicken, Burst Tomato, and Artichoke Skewers with Goat Cheese Dip.  As soon as I have homegrown tomatoes, this is ON.  And I think I’ll take her advice and open a bottle of wine plus grill some garlic bread for the side.

img_1789

Favorite Scoop:  Lemon Poppy Seed Ice Cream.  I have a feeling we’re going to be pulling out the ice cream maker quite a lot this summer.

beach-chairs

Favorite List:  13 Books Everyone will be Talking About This Summer.  I just started reading “Here’s To Us” by Elin Hildebrand yesterday. And I’m totally adding “First Comes Love” by Emily Griffin and “The Singles Game” by Lauren Weisberger to my summer reading list.

wgc-peach-pizza-1-copy

Favorite Simple:  Grilled Peach and Prosciutto Pizza.  The key here is to use quality ingredients.  Local peaches, the best prosciutto you can find, high quality mozzarella and a homemade crust (duh).

grilled-romaine-chicken-and-corn-salad-with-salsa-vinaigrette-2

Favorite Summer Dinner:  Grilled Romaine, Corn and Chicken Salad with Salsa Dressing.  I could probably eat this salad Monday through Thursday and be completely happy in life.

6e4fb147d59013571bdd42c7a6fcab88

Favorite Accessory:  Shiraleah Natural Carmelita Pom Pom Clutch.  WANT!  And it’s totally affordable.

75b1608ca490f047a5eee9d51206602e

Favorite In Season:  Sweet Corn Pesto Tossed with Pappardelle and Zucchini Noodles.  I’m going to really need the squash bugs to leave my garden so that I still have zucchini when it’s time to harvest the corn so that I can then make this bowl of deliciousness.  Thankyouverymuch.

chickensaladfriday.jpg

Favorite Break:  Grape and Herb Chicken Salad. A perfect Saturday in the summer starts with a long walk and coffee followed by heading out to the pool with a good book.  At about 1pm, you head inside for lunch, maybe your first cocktail of the day.  And then you go back outside for a couple of more hours before showering for your evening of fun.  This would be the perfect lunch break.  Simple yet satisfying.

unnamed2

Favorite Jaw Drop:  An Epic Maine Home.  I love EVERYTHING about this house.  And can we talk about the pool?!?!  (No, seriously, you have to click over and look at this house.)

26442621270_4308fb3796_b

Favorite Umbrella Drink:  Creamy Coconut Margarita. I constantly live in a fantasy world (just ask Big Guy).  And my currently wanderlust daydream is Cabo.  I’m fairly certain I could live off this drink plus guacamole and chips for a month.

Cheers to the weekend!

(and don’t forget to wear SPF)

 

 

One thought on “Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

