Quick Zucchini and Bell Pepper Gratin

Yep, another zucchini recipe.  I wasn’t lying when I said we are buried under zucchini and I’m bound and determined not to let any go to waste.

This recipe was quick and easy and while I would make a few tweaks, I thought I’d share just in case you find yourself with an overabundance of zucchini this year.

zucchinigratin.JPG

The gratin includes a layer of sautéed onions and bell peppers that are topped with thinly sliced zucchini and then a sprinkling of bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese.

One change I would make is to actually toss the sautéed onion mixture with the zucchini before topping with the bread crumbs and baking.  I think that the onion mixture had so much flavor and I wanted that same flavor in every bite.

I also might add a little tomato paste to the onions or add in some sliced tomato or halved cherry tomatoes for a little more flavor.  Or add more herbs (I used oregano).  I think parsley sprinkled on top before baking would add a fantastic pop of freshness.

And I think tomorrow I’ll bake some zucchini muffins…because I still have more zucchini.

Leave a Reply

