Roasted Tomato and Charred Lime Guacamole

Oh, Monday.  I really don’t want to adult today.  But I have no choice.  Big Guy and I both worked hard on Saturday.  I worked a wedding on the farm (27,000 steps worth of work) and Big Guy put in a long day outside getting our yard and garden ready.  I am so excited for homegrown tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, corn, zucchini, squash and herbs.

gardenmay

The best part is that he installed an automatic watering system so I don’t kill all.the.things.  I just have to be careful not to kill the hanging basket on the front porch.

After our hard work on Saturday all we wanted to do on Sunday was “hang out.”  We had a productive Sunday morning but after that it was #sundayfunday in full effect.

Roasted Tomato and Charred Lime Guacamole is perfect for any occasion but especially Cinco de Mayo on Thursday.  (Seriously, this upcoming weekend is insane between Cinco de Mayo, Derby Saturday and Mother’s Day.)

Tomatoes are tossed with EVOO, salt and pepper and then roasted at 425 degrees for about 25 minutes.  Also on the sheet pan, halved limes.  Yes, you roast the limes!

Once the tomatoes and limes have roasted, it’s time to get to work on the guac.  Mash the avocados to your liking (I like a little chunk in my guac) and add diced jalapeño and red onion along with chopped cilantro and lots of salt.  Salt is key to good guacamole.  Juice the limes into the guac and then fold in most of the roasted tomatoes.  Top the guacamole with a little more cilantro and the remaining roasted tomatoes.

guac

I served ours with tortilla scoops and plantains (from Trader Joes) for dipping.

Oh, and a glass of bubbles.  But a margarita would be fantastic.

Now I’m off to adult…

But I don’t wanna.

One thought on “Roasted Tomato and Charred Lime Guacamole

  1. That sounds like an excellent guacamole with the roast tomatoes. I will make it this weekend. I always make roast tomatoes for pasta and sandwiched but never thought of putting it in guac. Thanks

Leave a Reply

