Friday Favorites {NOLA edition}

We’re shaking up Friday Favorites again.  It is absolutely impossible to tell you my favorite restaurant or my favorite bite – there are so many favorites for different reasons. Here goes nothing…

Favorite Tourist Moment:  The Carousel Bar.  I mean, how could you not want to go on a ride around the only spinning bar in the city?  There are 25-seats at the bar and there are always people waiting for you to jump off.  It takes about 15 minutes to go around and I giggled multiple times as we went round and round.

carouselbar

Favorite Unexpected Plate:  My second course at lunch at Coquette.  I was torn about what to order and the waitress thankfully steered me in the right direction.  I ordered the cobia with english peas, mint, basil and cherry tomatoes and it was amazing.  The fish was cooked to perfection and I loved the freshness of the herb and pea puree.  This bright and light plate of food was a breathe of fresh air in the midst of a lot of heavy food.

cobia

Favorite Unexpected Sip:  Akakies Sparking Rosé.  While at Coquette, I noticed a sparking wine from Greece on the wine list.  The lady beside me was just as curious and ordered a glass so I asked the waitress for a taste.  After one sip, I had to have a glass.  It was amazing!  I am going to try my hardest to find a way to get a bottle or two in my house.

Favorite Fried:  Fried Chicken with Whipped Honey from Coquette.  Clearly I loved our lunch at Coquette.  But I can’t bring myself to have a favorite lunch.  This fried chicken was so succulent and juicy but perfectly crunchy on the outside.  It was sweet, salty, savory and just down right perfect.  (Second place goes to the fried oysters that were on our salad at R’evolution.)

friedchicken

Favorite Restaurant Service:  Overall, I was blown away by the hospitality of New Orleans.  But I have to say that R’evolution took the cake.  They were professional yet not stiff, they catered to our needs but weren’t overbearing.

Favorite Lick Your Plate:  At R’evolution I ordered the gnocchi special as my entree.  It was homemade ricotta gnocchi with lobster and the most beautiful lemon sauce.  I could not get enough of the sauce.  It was sweet but savory and made me want to lick my plate.

lobstergnocchi

Favorite Epic:  The Grand Ambition.  I’ve never had a meat and cheese plate quite as elaborate as the one we had at Root on our first night in New Orleans.  I couldn’t even begin to tell you what each of the meats were.  But every bite was different and unique.  One of my favorite parts of the board – the little squeeze bottle of homemade mustard that give you with each board.  Oh, and I can guarantee I’m going to try to pickle my own apples soon.

epic

Favorite Pickle:  Almost every restaurant featured something pickled on the menu and my favorite would have to be the cucumbers and herbs in vinegar from Cochon.  Crisp and crunchy and just the right amount of punch from the vinegar.

Favorite Oyster:  Also from Cochon, the wood-fired oysters with chili garlic butter.  They were insane.  (And I can’t lie, a adored the alligator bites, too.)

cochon

Favorite Cocktail:  The bartender at Cure made me a riff on a French 75 and it was perfection.  I now wish I had a bartender at home.  To make me one now.

cure

Favorite Thankful:  I’m thankful for the three years of marriage that we’ve had and I’m thankful for every memory we make – whether it’s while traveling or just being our “boring” selves at home.  Thank you, Big Guy, for an amazing weekend away and I can’t wait to make a million more memories with you.

third

(p.s. I know I missed something and I also didn’t take pictures of everything we ate…but this is a pretty good snapshot.)

 

 

 

One thought on “Friday Favorites {NOLA edition}

  1. NOLA has such good food, & you certainly ran into some of it! Lobster gnocchi?!? Yum. And you’re right about the above & beyond hospitality in NOLA as well. it’s such a creative, historical, culturally rich, unique place that’s almost like its own country. Can’t wait to go back someday… my brother is a poet who writes with a typewriter on the streets there, and also is part of a puppet troupe. If you see him around the French Quarter, he’s http://www.poetforhire.org/ 🙂

Leave a Reply

