Friday Favorites

TGIF!  It’s been quite the busy week but busy typically means that the week flies by so I’m not complaining.  Big Guy has been in California all week so I am more than excited to see him later tonight.  Unfortunately my timing of my barre training meant we’ve spent about 3 hours together in the past 11 days.  Obviously Saturday is all about us hanging out and catching up on lost time.  Oh, and cooking delicious food.  But tonight is GNO (girls night out) and I’m excited to head to Art in Bloom at the NC Art Museum as well as dinner at a restaurant that’s been on my list of places to eat for several months.  I’ve been told I’m watching the Masters on Sunday…we’ll see about that.

Whatever you’re doing, I hope you have a great weekend.  Here are my favorites (almost all food!) from the week:

meatloaf-burgers-i-howsweeteats-com-4-2

Favorite Old School:  Meatloaf Sliders with Bacon, Pepper Jack and Frizzled Onions.  My brain has been fixated on meatloaf the past few weeks and this is the perfect mix of “old school” meatloaf in a “new school” way.

26281949355_12c995b6da_o

Favorite Loaf:  Blueberry Lemon and Muffin Bread.  I am totally baking a batch of this bread.  And it’s totally happening today.

pickle-juice-brined-baked-chicken-tenders-7

Favorite “Don’t Throw it Away”:  Pickle-Brined Baked Chicken Tenders.  We’re obsessed with pickles.  As in, there are probably no less than 5 jars of pickles in the fridge.  And now I don’t have to throw away the juice.

bourbon-peanut-butter-caramel-chocolate-cake-19

Favorite Over-the-Top:  Bourbon & Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake with Salted Caramel Drizzle. Holy moly.  I want to face plant into this cake.

chicken-shawarma-fries-with-mediterranean-salsa-and-garlic-sauce-iowagirleats-08

Favorite Platter of Food:  Chicken Shawarma Fries with Mediterranean Salsa and Garlic Sauce. So maybe you could convince me to watch the Masters on Sunday if this was sitting in front of me.

1e86160bb8791854f93d5f771bacf182

Favorite From Scratch:  Creamy Sweet Pea Pesto Agnolotti.  This pasta dish screams “SPRING” and I adore the envelope shape of these little bites of pasta.

springcleaningtodolist

Favorite “To Do” List:  Kitchen Spring Cleaning.  While my kitchen looks spic and span, I need to carve out a few hours next week to clean in places no one every looks – like the cabinets and the fridge.  And don’t even get me started on how bad my oven needs to be cleaned.

masters-egg-salad-sandwich

Favorite Southern:  The Masters Egg Salad. The two most popular sandwiches at the Masters are pimiento cheese sandwich and the egg salad sandwich.  Both are served on white bread and both are $1.50.

grilled-avocado-barbecue-chicken-naan-pizza

Favorite Twist:  Grilled Avocado-Barbecue Chicken Naan Pizza.  Instead of your typically pizza dough, why not make a pizza on naan bread.  But I think we’ll have to take it to the next level and try to make homemade naan bread.

img_1177

Favorite Weekend:  Triple Citrus Gin Spritzer.  Light, bright and refreshing.  My perfect cocktail.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

