Seared Yellowtail Tuna with Avocado Salsa

Last night was one of those evenings when I didn’t really mind that I had to cook a solo-dinner.  Unfortunately, I eat a lot of dinners during the week by myself because of Big Guy’s work schedule but fortunately that means I can eat whatever I want.  And last night, I wanted tuna.  

The tuna was seared to absolute perfection by getting the grill pan screaming hot, coating the pan with coconut oil spray and then cooking the tuna for about 2 minutes on each side.  It was perfectly rare on the inside but the outside had a lovely crust.  Without a super hot pan, you can forget the outside having a great texture.

And with the tuna, a simple avocado salad.  My avocados were super ripe so it ended up being like a really chunky guacamole but you won’t hear me complaining.  The salsa mixture included avos (duh), halved tomatoes (so ready to have some growing in the garden), sliced red onion, basil (instead of cilantro because I had some in the fridge), gah-lic (and lots of it), lime juice, salt, pepper and some diced jalapeño for a little heat.

tuna

So fresh.  So delicious.

I’ll be single every Tuesday night if dinner looks like this.

 

One thought on “Seared Yellowtail Tuna with Avocado Salsa

  1. Pingback: WIAW {what i ate wednesday} | A Tasty Life

Leave a Reply

