Quinoa Salad with Toasted Almonds, Beets and Manchego

It’s 6:46pm on Monday and honestly feel like the past few days have been a whirlwind.  This past weekend I inched myself a few steps closer to reaching one of my 2016 goals.  I attended a 3-day/16-hour training on Core Barre in Charlotte and I couldn’t be more excited.  I learned SO much – I honestly can’t remember the last time I used my brain so much on a weekend.  But I’m also anxious about what’s to come.  After the course, we took the written test which I passed with a 94 (woot! woot!).  The hard part is what’s happening now.  I’m studying and practicing so that I can submit my final practical which is a 35 minute video of me teaching various aspects of the syllabus.  I have so much to work on but I’m determined to be able to say I’m a Core Barre instructor by July 31.

So yea – that’s what my weekend looked like.  Plus a little family time including dinner with my parents, brunch with the family and then another dinner with my parents and brother.

brunch

I arrived home at about 6:30pm last night to Big Guy working hard in the kitchen.  He was in charge of dinner and he sure impressed me.  He whipped up a salad and pizza that was absolutely incredible.  The salad included roasted beets, candied pecans, raspberry, manchego and a homemade raspberry vinaigrette.  The pizza (I forget his creative name for the pie) was topped with a garlic-olive oil base along with sautéed spinach, bacon, figs, toasted almonds, cheeeeese (goat and Monterey jack), and he finished the whole thing off with orange zest.  Weird but absolutely delicious.

pizzanight

After a full day of work, I whipped up a simple meatless Monday dinner that used up a few ingredients in the fridge.

I made a quinoa salad that included toasted almonds, thyme, fresh basil and then used that as a salad topper along with leftover roasted beets and manchego.

quinoasalad

Salads are a great way to use up leftover ingredients in a new way.

I adored the bites of quinoa with almonds and a little manchego.

But then again, I love any bite that includes cheese.

 

One thought on “Quinoa Salad with Toasted Almonds, Beets and Manchego

  1. Pingback: WIAW {what i ate wednesday} | A Tasty Life

Leave a Reply

