Baby Kale and Golden Beet Salad with Salmon

I’m not quite sure what took so long or why I was so intimidated by the idea, but yesterday was the first time I’ve cooked beets.

I know.  I can’t believe it either.  I mean, I adore beets (not the canned stuff, y’all) and order them when I’m in a restaurant but I’ve always just kept on flipping the page when I would see a recipe with beets.

And now I regret all the recipes I’ve overlooked.  Because prepping the beets was so easy.

Simply trim the beet and then stab a few times with a knife.  Wrap in parchment paper and microwave until tender.  (Mine took about 12 minutes in the microwave – I think they were a little bigger than “medium.”)  Once they’re cooked, using a paper towel simply remove the skin by gently rubbing.

That’s it!

While the beets were cooking, I made the quick pickled red onions with a simply pickling liquid of apple cider vinegar, water and honey.  I also prepped the dressing which was a mix of honey, olive oil, white wine vinegar, salt, pepper, and mustard.  I tossed the baby kale (along with some random herbs that I didn’t want to go to waste) with the dressing before plating.

The kale is topped with some pickled onions, beet wedges, flaked salmon and sprinkle of walnuts.

kalebeetsalad

This salad is everything.  It’s bright and tangy, it’s nutty and herbaceous, it’s sweet and crunchy.

I’m obsessed.

Leave a Reply

