Friday Favorites

Good morning, friends!  It’s 8am and I feel like I’ve already put in a full day:  workout (check), coffee (check); grocery shopping (check); and a little work (check but more to come).  And I think that my busy Friday morning is just a start to a busy, busy weekend.  We have some fun yet random plans with friends tonight followed by lots of things around the house tomorrow and then I have more plans with girlfriends on Sunday.  Oh, and in the midst of all that, my sister and her family are headed this way.  Whew.  I’m exhausted.  But it’s all going to be SO much fun.  So let’s kick this weekend off with my favorites from the week:

oatmeal-latte-i-howsweeteats-com-5

Favorite Wake Up:  Oatmeal Latte.   Whipped oats plus espresso sounds like the perfect “buzzed” breakfast.

shredded-brussels-sprouts-chicken-caesar-salad-iowagirleats-02

Favorite Spin: Shredded Brussels Sprouts and Chicken Caesar Salad.  Big Guy is obsessed with Caesar salad.  I love this remix on this favorite.

pc38c20-r01-002-e1434646177284

Favorite Room:  Light and Bright. How airy and wonderful is this room?  I can just imagine myself waking up and sipping coffee in this room.  Preferably in a beach house.

25537678752_e7d76acc77_c

Favorite Baked:  Rosemary Pecan Blondies.  Rosemary is about the only thing that survived the winter in my herb garden.  Even more reason to want to bake these blondies.

mothersreckoning

Favorite Read:  Mother’s Reckoning:  Living in the Aftermath of Tragedy.    I’ve always been intrigued by memoirs and other non-fiction books.  I remember being obsessed with the JonBenét Ramsey story in the late ’90s.  The above book is written by the mother of one of the Columbine shooters.  I am fascinated.

cinnamontoastcrunchbostock-7

Favorite Throwback:  Gigantic Cinnamon Toast Crunch.  I remember coming home from school when I was younger and eating cereal as a snack.  While we usually had Honey Bunches of Oats (still a family favorite) or Life in stock, we sometimes would get lucky and find a box of of the sugary-sweet stuff.  Like Cinnamon Toast Crunch.  This twist on French toast would make for the most epic and nostalgic brunch ever.

jigsaw_cooked_promostills_fire_06aresize-0

Favorite Netflix and Chill:  Michael Pollan’s Cooked.   Okay, can someone seriously teach Big Guy and I how to access and then watch Netflix?!?!  And I’m serious.

25512259282_e3b67af8a9_o

Favorite Spring:  Carrot Cake Thumbprint Cookies.   All the flavor of one of our favorite cakes in cookie form.

strawberry-pineapple-margarita-i-howsweeteats-com-1-2

Favorite Warm Weather:  Strawberry Bottomed Pineapple Margaritas.  All this weather has me craving mojitos and margaritas.  And as soon as strawberries are in season, this is happening.  Guacamole not optional.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

