Beefy Bolognese

Good morning!  It’s a slow morning over here thanks to some winter weather.  And to be honest, I’m not all that mad at the icy mix that’s made the morning slow.  I crammed my whole weekend into Sunday so easing into the week isn’t all that bad.

But Sunday was a LOVEly day.

flowersandcards

Beautiful tulips were delivered to the door on Friday and I got not one, not two but THREE Valentine’s Day cards.  The Hallmark ladies were probably very curious when Big Guy bought three cards.

We had a low-key Friday night with a bottle of red wine and a delicious Italian-inspired dinner of beefy bolognese.

pasta

The bolognese with rich and meaty and it tasted as though it had been cooking all day long.  The Dutch oven is the best way to cook this sauce though there is an option on Cooking Light to cook it in the slow cooker.  I used all beef (instead of a beef and pork mix) and I think the bacon added a whole lot of flavor to the entire dish.

I highly recommend this recipe – we were both impressed with the flavors.

Another thing I was impressed with this past weekend – our lunch yesterday.

oysters

I wish every lunch included bubbles, oysters and cheese.

I hope you all have a fantastic week!

Leave a Reply

