Friday Favorites

The weekend of “love” is here.  I’ve never been a huge fan of Valentine’s Day.  In fact, I used to call it “gag” day.  But now that I’m in love, I’m not quite as negative.  But in reality, I’d rather be shown love all year round.  I also feel bad for some guys – expectations are set so high on Valentine’s Day.  My only expectation is to pop open a bottle of bubbly and eat some delicious food.  (Big Guy, you’re such a lucky guy.)

Now that I work in the “restaurant world,” Valentine’s Day weekend has a whole new meaning.  We’ve been booked for two weeks solid so I’m actually having to work on Saturday night.  But like I said yesterday, Sunday is going to be MY day.

I hope that you have a lovely weekend full of all things love.  But let’s not set our expectations too high, ummmkay?

bhg-walnut-pasta2-copy

Favorite At-Home Date:  Spicy Walnut Pasta. If you don’t have plans this weekend, why not whip up this pasta dish?  The flavors sound amazing and all that’s missing is a bottle of wine.

 slow-cooker-carnitas-taco-bites-0971-2

Favorite Entertaining:  Slow Cooker Carnitas Taco Bites.  I love entertaining with Mexican food.  And these little hand-held bites of deliciousness would be perfect with a pitcher of margaritas.

3ae45e68f322369305d6c169d8856e99

Favorite Obsession:  Lemon Truffle Cookies.  Lemons.  They’re so versatile.  And I love them.  And now I want to use lemons to make cookies and them dip them in chocolate.

2f7a45c919808b1ed0f392e31416f467

Favorite Southern:  Pecan Fried Chicken Sandwich with Collard Green Slaw.  So this has my husband written all over it.  $10 says he’ll mention this tonight when he gets home from Texas.

24231306633_b3f4aa1f7e_c

Favorite Break the Fast:  Fluffy Coconut Flour Waffles with a Simple Berry Compote.  Now I’m torn on what we should have for breakfast on Sunday.

5ac7e34d327b5bbe7fa6347c4373566c

Favorite Crispy:  Honey Garlic Beef. I need this in my life.  Or at least on my plate.

picture804

Favorite Chocolate: Ina Garten’s Outrageous Brownies.  About 99% of the population will be eating chocolate this weekend and I’m fairly certain about 99% of women would adore these brownies.

ws_1pot_citruslamb_3525-544x816

Favorite Comfort:  Citrus-Braised Lamb Shanks.   Like a warm, cozy blanket.

classic-oatmeal-cookies-with-dark-chocolate-and-ginger-6-e1452911005749

Favorite Flavor and Texture:  Classic Chewy Oatmeal Chocolate Chunk and Ginger Cookies.  There is nothing better than a chewy cookie (or a fudgy brownie).  And I love, love, love the added texture with the oats.  And ginger.  Oh-em-gee.  Ginger!  And chocolate.

6d586d7fd0c07de91390892ed9b843c0

Favorite Everything:  Rosé Champagne Mojitos. I was so close to having one Friday Favorite this week.  And this is it.  This cocktail is everything.  And this cocktail will be happening as soon as it gets warmer outside.  The champagne simple syrup may be happening a lot sooner than that.

 

Cheers to LOVE!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

