Double Chocolate Banana Bread Bars

Whenever there are a few brown bananas on the counter I get the urge to bake something.  And last week was no exception.  As I stood there staring at them, I remembered the almond meal I stumbled across in the pantry during a pantry purge and organization session a couple of weeks ago.  And with that, I knew exactly what I was going to make with my browned bananas.

Double Chocolate {paleo} Banana Bread Bars are the perfect afternoon snack.  Or they would be awesome at breakfast with a little something-something added.

I used my Ninja to blend the bananas, eggs and vanilla and then combined the mixture with the dry ingredients: almond flour (I used one cup and left out the coconut flour – something I apparently “purged” during my pantry clean-out), cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  I then chopped up a chocolate bar and folded in half of the chocolate bits into the batter.

The batter is poured into a prepared pan (I used coconut oil spray and parchment paper) and then topped with the remaining chocolate.  My bars took about 25 minutes – but check them after 20.  These bars are rather forgiving – which you can’t say about a lot of baked goods.

12479187_200175670334219_1204091830_n

Healthy and chocolate DO go together.

These bars have no added sugar and while I will never tell you they taste like a fudge gluten-filled brownie (which is absolutely delicious) I will tell you that it’s the perfect “fix” come 3pm when my lunch has worn off and all I can think about is dinner.

So if you’re scared of brown bananas…I’ll take ’em!

Leave a Reply

