A Day in the Life {january 2016}

Not only is it a new year but I also have a new “work flow.”  More than likely I’ll have a “work from home” day once or twice a week.  And yesterday I had my official first “work from home” day.  Here’s a peak at how I spent my day:

4:17 a.m. – Wake up call!

4:28 a.m. – I’m out the door and on the way to the gym.

4:42 a.m. – Arrive at the Y and wait for the door to be unlocked – it’s too cold to stand outside!

5:00 a.m. – Pilates class

pilates jan 2016

6:05 a.m. – Jump on the treadmill for 15 extra minutes of movement.

6:40 a.m. – Arrive home and immediately start brewing a pot of coffee.  Make the bed.

6:45 a.m. – She Reads Truth devotion – we’re reading through the book of Genesis.

7:00 a.m. – Turn on the Today Show and pour a cup of coffee.  It’s also definitely time for breakfast:  Siggi’s vanilla yogurt + high fiber/low sugar cereal + a tablespoon of peanut butter.  While I’m eating and sipping and watching I also check my favorite blogs (multi-tasking at it’s finest).

breakfast jan 2016

7:25 a.m. – Phone rings.  Weird.  It’s Kat!  We missed each other last night for a scheduled phone date so we chat for a little bit before she heads into work.

7:45 a.m. – Pull myself away from the couch, pour one more cup of coffee and get ready to tackle some computer work.

8:00 a.m. – 8:57 a.m. – work, work, work

9:00 a.m. – A few personal phone calls.

9:41 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. – work, work, work (plus a few “get up and walk around the house” breaks)

11:30 a.m. – Break for a shower and lunch.  On the menu:  leftover soup (that looks hideous) plus grapes.  Lots of perfectly sweet red grapes.

lunch jan 2016

12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. – work, work, work…which included a little research on QuickBooks.  (Anyone use this online program???)

2:40 p.m. – Snack time!  Home grown carrots plus a almond butter. And a lime La Croix.  Obsessed.

snack jan 2016

3:05 p.m. – Research sub-zero temperature gloves.  Answer a few emails.  Random chores around the house.

4:10 p.m – Head out the door for the first time in almost 12 hours to run some errands before barre.  Bank.  Post office.

5:15 p.m. – Arrive early to barre.  As usual.

5:45 p.m.  – Shake and burn at barre!

7:05 p.m. – Arrive home starving but with a smile on my face and a happy heart.

7:15 p.m. – A simple, not-so-glamorous dinner of a protein shake and avocado toast with sea salt and red pepper flakes on gluten-free bread. (I didn’t even attempt to find good lighting or make this dinner seem more than what it is.)

dinner january 2015

7:45 p.m. – Check my email one last time before closing down the computer for the night.  Oh, and watch the end of E! News.  How else will I know what else is going on in the world?  (wink wink)

8:00 p.m. – Start to wind down – wash my face, take out my contacts, brush my teeth…

8:15 p.m. – Color in my coloring book.  Catch up with Big Guy on his day.

9:00 p.m. – Lights out.  4:17 a.m. comes way too early.

 

So there you have it.  My “new normal” if you will.

What’s funny about this post is that I cooked absolutely nothing today (unless you count toasting bread and mashing an avocado “cooking”).  But this post is absolutely truthful.  Sometimes the “internet” and social media can make others lives seem perfect – but my life is far from perfect.  It’s a beautiful life – ugly soup and all – but not perfect.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Day in the Life {january 2016}

  1. Did you still have questions about Quickbooks? I use the online program for work I do for my brother-in-laws company. I am by no means an expert on it but may be able to answer your questions!

    • I may…we haven’t officially started using it yet. I also have a friend here that is using it for her husband’s business so I’m hoping if I have questions someone will have an answer…

Leave a Reply

