Friday Favorites

Christmas is ONE week away.  How is that even possible?  I have one more gift to purchase and a few more to wrap before I can officially say “I’m ready for Christmas.”

{image}

The weekend before Christmas brings about lots of parties and other shenanigans – I hope you have a fun weekend planned!  We are actually having a low-key Friday night to make sure we’re ready (AKA I’ll be in the kitchen most of the evening) for our Christmas celebration on Saturday with my mother-in-law and that side of the family.  We’re hosting the family again and I’m so excited to have a house full (and it will be full – especially since our tree takes up some prime square footage) and to hear laughter and chatter.  And on Sunday afternoon, I have a little get together with a few of my closest girlfriends.  Last year we had a Christmas pajama night and we’re doing it again this year.  I’m making a cozy soup and there will be wine and lots of girl talk along with an ornament exchange.  A busy but fun weekend lies ahead.

Take time to breathe this weekend – remember that no Christmas is perfect and that perfection isn’t the reason we celebrate.  Enjoy every moment – even the small ones – over the next week!

And here are my favorites from the week:

Favorite Scrumptious:  Nigel Slater’s Cog au Riesling.  My Le Creuset is begging me to make this and then serve it with crusty bread.

 

Favorite Round-Up:  Last Minute Gift Guide (for everyone in your life).  I seriously would love to gift or be gifted any of the items on the four gift guides.  But I can’t lie – the “i sweat champagne” was made for me.

 

Favorite Slice:  Super Easy Pepperoni Pizza Puff Pastry.  I am all about a homemade crust – but I’m also 100% okay with taking short cuts here and there.  Though puff pastry may be the most delicious short cut ever in the history of pizza.

 

Favorite Wanderlust:  Amalfi Coast.  I told Big Guy this is where I want to go for our 10 year anniversary.  Though I’d totally go tomorrow if he wanted.

 

Favorite Find: Mike’s Hot Honey.   While in Asheville, we stopped by the Bee Charmer.  There’s been some “buzz” (hah!) around spicy honey and now I know why – one taste and I was sold.  I want a drizzle on a piece of fried chicken.

 

Favorite Layers:  Marbled Peppermint Crunch Cake.  Absolute perfection.

 

Favorite Mantra:  

{source}

Favorite Sweet:  Custom Sugar Cubes.  How adorable are these?  Perfect for baby showers, holidays and everything in between.

Favorite Fashion:  Fancy Denim.  The mix of fancy and casual works for so many occasions and I love it!

 

Favorite Booze:  Cranberry Orange Margarita. My craving for a margarita hasn’t been squashed nor has it disappeared.

 

Leave a Reply

