One chapter ends but another begins…

I’m going to be honest – I didn’t expect that I would write about this today.  But then again, two months ago I would have never expected to take this leap of faith.

Today one chapter ends but another begins.  Today is my last day of work at the non-profit I have been with for over four years.

Let’s back up…

In 2008, I graduated from ECU with my Masters degree in Health Education and Promotion.  I was interested in pursuing a job in corporate wellness but the first job that came around was at a local health department and I took it.  A couple of years later, I moved on to another health department – thankfully this position was focused on nutrition.  In 2011, I moved from the government sector to non-profit and I was happy.  For the first three years at least.

My job was my job and I left work at work on Friday afternoon.  Until about a year ago.  Changes in staffing caused some major shifts and honestly, the whole dynamic of work changed which caused me angst and anxiety every single Sunday.  I would ruin Sunday because of Monday.  Not only that, I was miserable to be around.  I would sulk and complain and most Sunday’s I would shed a tear or two.  It wasn’t fun.  In fact, it was miserable.  I wanted a way out.  I wanted a change.

In October I attended a three-day leadership training.  Part of the training was a mentoring session with a therapist – my one hour session ended up being way more therapy than mentoring.  But I’ll never forget these words she said “If you can’t change the situation, you have to change yourself.”

And I can’t change the situation.  I’ve tried – for months – with no long-term success.

So today I’m leaving my office for the last time.  I’ve written my last reports and I’ve turned in my keys.

And I’m ready to look forward to each and every week.

So where am I going?

If you’ve been a reader for any length of time, you know that I’m a huge fan of SoCo Farm and Food.  Well, after a year of joking that I wanted to come work for them it’s actually going to happen.

We don’t quite have a job title for me yet, but I’ve thrown out a few including Director of Operations and Executive Assistant.

I’m going to be doing a little bit of everything…marketing, website management, helping grow their home delivery business, studying for my wine certification and some nights you may find me waiting tables during a busy weekend.

Trust me, I’m a little scared – it’s going to be totally different than what I’ve been doing since 2008.  But I’m excited.

My passion for food and wine is undeniable.  And that passion is going to breathe life back into my Sundays.

And I think this has officially been my most serious post…

Here goes nothing!

 

{images from Peanut Butter Runner}

 

5 thoughts on “One chapter ends but another begins…

  1. I’m proud of you, Emily, for having the guts to go for it. There’s no doubt in my mind that you will be FANTASTICALLY successful!!!

    Love you!!

Leave a Reply

