#bakeitforward

I’ve always loved being in the kitchen – especially around the holidays.  I have vivid memories of baking banana bread and pizzelles with my Momma and sister to share with neighbors and friends.  I suppose I take after my mother because I love giving homemade goodies to friends this time of the year.  Last year I think I made 11 bundt cakes!

On Monday, I took the afternoon off work so that I could have a marathon Christmas goodie-making extravaganza.  I recommend not setting yourself up for disaster by picking a minimal number of goodies to tackle.  This year I went with three.

2-Ingredient Palmiers

Muddy Buddy Pecans

Chocolate Gingerbread Bundt Cake

christmas goodies

And after spending the better part of the afternoon and evening in the kitchen, my grand totals were 5 bundt cakes, 64 cookies and 12 cups of pecans.

I packaged them up and they were ready for delivery.

When I delivered my first round of cakes on Tuesday morning to a few of the men at the gym, I remembered why I love gifting edible goodies so much.  Between hugs and texts at 8:30 am that say “your cake is delicious, thanks again” it feels so good to give unexpected gifts to your friends.

#bakeitforward

Do you have any favorite Christmas goodies that you love baking for others?

2 thoughts on “#bakeitforward

  1. I also love making baked goods for gifts! On my list this year is banana bread, Christmas Crack, and 7 layer cookie bars. I bought a jumbo bag of pecans at Costco that I have barely touched. That muddy buddy pecan recipe will be perfect to use them up!

    • Oh my goodness – Christmas Crack is truly one of the most addicting things on the face of the earth. And I would highly recommend the muddy buddy pecans – a great use of pecans. Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

